Reasons

“Everything happens for a reason.” A cliché statement that has the pleasure of rolling off everyone’s tongue at some point during the week or month. The slow but consistent stream of soft radio head peels through the loud air in my natural lit room. Picking up my favorite Céline T shirt, I slide it on delicately to avoid smearing my freshly done makeup. Of course my plan does not go accordingly and I demolish my face. Sliding my fuzzy socks (the undone part of my ‘ootd’) across the carpet to be pin-pointed in front of the mirror, I become increasingly mad. Taking a deep breath, I tell myself, “everything happens for a reason,” touch up my face and move on with my day. What if in the extra minute I used to fix my face, I trip in a city pothole and die. I saved myself. Reason.

Leave a comment